First week at work

This is my second week at my new job. The first week went well. It was a strange feeling to return to work after such a long break. Good thing is that I have started to see clients starting on my third day. That makes the day go by faster. I’ve been learning a lot. After all, substance abuse is a totally new area for me. It has definitely given me a new perspective to the addiction population. It’s a social, psychological, as well as medical problem. So far, I have been working with inpatient detox clients. This week and the next, I’ll focus on the methadone and buprenophrine clients. There are lots of paperwork to learn. Moving to a new city is hard because I also have to learn about the new community and resources around here. Hopefully I’ll feel more settled soon and be able to start focusing on providing mental health therapy to clients. Tons of client here have long trauma history. Many are diagnosed with PTSD, anxiety disorder, bipolar, major depressive disorder, etc. It will be interesting and challenging. I’ll definitely need self-care. I’ve made a good start by eating well and taking an hour break for lunch. Hopefully I can keep this good habit going.

This entry was posted in Random. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment